Connect with us


CAA Act 2019 Came Into Force From 10 January



CAA Act 2019 Came Into Force From 10 January

CAA Act 2019 Came Into Force From 10 January: The Centre on Friday the 10th January 2020 has officially announced that the Citizenship (Amendment) Act will come into force from January 10 2020.

In a gazette notification, the Union home ministry said the act under which non-Muslim refugees from Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan will be given Indian citizenship, will come into force from January 10.

CAA Act 2019 Came Into Force From 10 January

“In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (2) of section 1 of the Citizenship (Amendment) Act, 2019 (47 of 2019), the Central Government hereby appoints the 10th day of January 2020, as the date on which the provisions of the said Act shall come into force,” the notification said.

According to the CAA, members of Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist, Jain, Parsi and Christian communities who have come from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan till December 31, 2014, facing religious persecution there will not be treated as illegal immigrants but given Indian citizenship. There have been widespread protests against the act in different parts of the country.

CAA Act 2019 Came Into Force From 10 January

Those who are opposed to the legislation are saying that it is for the first time that India will grant citizenship on the basis of religion which violates the basic tenets of the country’s constitution. However, the government and ruling BJP have been defending the act saying that the minority groups from the three countries have no other option but to come to India when they face religious persecution there. The home ministry, however, is yet to frame the rules for the act.

Also, See: Asaduddin Owaisi Revealed Further Plan Against CAA

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Kirrak Articles